The Mini Dioramas

Back in the Saddle

Too late for the 2024 bunfight, but nicely in time for 2025! :laugh:

Given the fun I had with the “Entropy” GB, learning new skills and modelling in media I’ve never worked with before, I thought it was worth distilling the best bits from that GB and using them as a basis for this suggestion.

Quite simply, just build a diorama that fits onto a ‘small’ base! Any genre of model can be considered - air, space, marine, vehicles, people, etc. - pick whatever you enjoy building.

Regarding size, the only criteria is that the finished diorama fits onto a base no larger than ‘approximately’ A4 (US letter sized for our friends across the pond!) Smaller bases, such as beermats are also welcome - the idea is just to keep it small and manageable. Perhaps a max base dimension of 30cm across?

Be artistic and give us your best creation! Who is interested in this? See below for the full list!

1. @Back in the Saddle

2. @Corsairfoxfouruncle

3. @Trevor L

4. @wimbledon99

5. @Angus Tura

6. @Mjwomack

7. @psdavidson

8.  @marvinneko

9. @Marklo

10. @Robert Stuart

11. @Bertie McBoatface

12. @MARADER

13. @AdrianMF

14. @TonyW

15. @Toryu

16. @Old Man

17.  @desert falcon

18.  @RJ-WobblyHands

19.  @John Masters

20. @Tim R-T-C

21. @ModelingEdmontonian

22. @bissyboat

23. @Colin W

24. @Paul821

25. @Muchmirth

26. @IanC

27. @bootneck

28. @Andy H

29. @Model Mate

30. @Redstaff

31. @vppelt68

• Like 3

Interesting idea but as an American were not familiar with the sizing terminology A4 ? Is there a way to post non UK specs for the dimensions ? I have a few diorama’s Id like to build at some point and if its a reasonable size then I would be interested. 

1 hour ago, Angus Tura said:

I'm interested in this, but I'm not clear about it. Would A4 be the only size, or a maximum size?

I’m flexible on size, the idea is to simply make some dioramas, have some fun and dabble with new skills - at least, new for some of us!