Spitfire XII

hi

This is my first attempt at posting photos, It's the Xtrakit Spitfire XII in the markings of 595 Sqn an AA Co-operation unit in 1945, two of my refs show the code as 'N' and one later found show it as 'Y'. Scheme is taken from the orders at the time, just wanted a different scheme. Next one will be in the (best guess)markings of the Fighter Leader School at RAF Millfield as part of my interest in north east based aircraft.

Gary

Photo052.jpg

• Like 3

Spitfire XII in the markings of 595 Sqn an AA Co-operation unit in 1945, two of my refs show the code as 'N' and one later found show it as 'Y'. Scheme is taken from the orders at the time, just wanted a different scheme.

Very interesting. Can you take us through the evidence that led you to the scheme? I am not wanting to nit-pick - I am a great believer is exploring the art of the possible, and my own 1/48 Spitfire 12 is in a fictional scheme so I am certainly not throwing stones - but I would love to know how much of this is documentary evidence and how much is "reasonable supposition".

"Can you take us through the evidence that led you to the scheme?"

Evidence..., EVIDENCE !!!!!....we don't need no STINKING EVIDENCE>>!@ :analintruder:

[ with apologies to Headly Lamar ]

Regards,

ggc

Edited by CPNGROATS

Very interesting. Can you take us through the evidence that led you to the scheme? I am not wanting to nit-pick - I am a great believer is exploring the art of the possible, and my own 1/48 Spitfire 12 is in a fictional scheme so I am certainly not throwing stones - but I would love to know how much of this is documentary evidence and how much is "reasonable supposition".

the scheme is from British Aviation Colours of world war two which has in it a copy of Air publication 2656a Vol.1 section 6 para 49 which states that the aircraft should be camouflaged dark green and dark earth