Bristol Bloodhound

Hi there ,this is my first time posting so please go easy on me! I was wondering if any of you knowlegable folks know the correct colour scheme for the bloodhound mark 1's in the early part of their careers as v-bomber base SAGW as I am doing a small diorama using the Airfix kit and a Valiant and am a bit suspicious of their colours. Were the boosters really yellow or is that a bit of artistic license ( or test markings) from our friends at Marfleet? as all the pics I have found point to them being white ( this is the early version not the later green ones). also did they have small roundels on the body? Thanks for any help with this.

Andy..

Cheers Rich I think you could be right ,looking at the contrast / tone in the pic there's a good chance it may well be yellow.Interesting arrangement of covers on the thors.That first shot must be of the worlds fastest microlight :wacko:

Andy...

Edited by general melchett

I have some walk-around pics I took of one in... Wells Reclamation Yard! I think the tyre marks are still there where I was driving past and thought "hills, fields, Bloodhound missile.."

If you want pics I can email them.

5c3aba28e2.jpg

Edited by Jonathan Mock

Thanks everyone ,That's a great looking model Rich pretty well what I want to do with mine ,hopefully have it done for the bomber command SIG at Telford. The main difference between the mk 1 and 2 apparantly was the fitting of an upgraded pulsed radar and homing unit ,the original being easily jammed and vulnerable to ground clutter other than that it looked the same. Tony Buttlers brilliant Secret Projects book on,ramjets ,hypersonics and missiles covers it's development well but only has black and white photos so it's hard to get an idea of colour schemes and nothing is mentioned in the text.

Andy..

your dog looks ace mike.

• 1 year later...

I know its is an old thread, but Correct Bloodhound Mk 1 Colours.