Airbrushing acrylics

Plumbum

I have a Badger double action airbrush and a compressor with moisture

trap and regulator. I am up to try my hand at air brushing. I would like some

non toxic paint, guessing acrylic? How is Humbrol for air brushing? Need their

cleaner and thinner? Do they have the latest and greatest assortment of

military colors? Thanks---John

Humbrol acrylics are very hit and miss. The greys and whites I've tried give a very coarse and bitty finish. the greens and browns turned out much better looking but still a coarse finish.

Tried a bit of Vallejo recently and that went on beautifully so I'm waiting on an order for a load more.

I'm a beginner with airbrushing though so someone with more experience may be able to tell you how to get the best out of Humbrol acrylics.

My personal experience would say avoid Humbrol like the plague! I use Tamiya and they work flawlessly thinned with isopropanol.

• Like 1

New to airbrushing, Vallejo model air is your best bet.

Airbrushable straight out of the bottle, but can be thinned if you want.

Gunze / Tamiya , I found best best thinned 1:1:1 paint /water /isopropanol

Edited by oggy4624

Humbrol acrylics are difficult to spray, but it can be done.

Humbrol, Lifecolor and Vallejo are water based acrylics and Tamiya is alcohol based. If you don't mind some 'chemicals' Tamiya is very nice, and you can get away without a primer, it bonds to plastic quite well. The water based acrylics are much more delicate and work best over a primer.

I agree with Oggy, Vallejo Model Air (VMA) is a good place to start as you don't need to thin it if you don't want to, just put a few drops in the cup and you're ready to practice. Badger Stynylrez is a water based primer that is quite complimentary to VMA paints, and unlike Vallejo primers, it can be sanded when dry.

Acrylic Paints are water soluble. Humbrol Tamiya Vallejo etc.all are made with water soluble acrylic resins.

Tamiya has a lacquer dryer which is toxic.