DSPIAE scribing tools

TheKinksFan

I'm almost a total novice when it comes to scribing. DSPIAE has so many products that it's a bit confusing, especially when they have quite complicated names. They have bits called Tungsten Steel Broach, in different widths. I find it difficult to conceptualize what is average width of a panel line or recessed detail on a 1/72 kit that has fine surface, like Eduard's. I  understand that they vary, and I would get as many as possible if the bits weren't expensive. If I would get one or two widths, what would be a good compromise?

I had the Tamiya equivalent (even more expensive!). I found the .2mm and .3mm most useful when it came to matching existing 1/72nd scribing on most kits - though .1mm might be more realistic.

On word of warning - drop them and the point will break :( I managed to break 2 in the space of a year, and though good, I've opted for move affordable (and robust) options. That said, given these are more affordable than Tamiya, I may give them a go myself. One benefit of these over some other scribers is that you can get into really tight corners.

Cheers

Colin

• Thanks 1

7 hours ago, ckw said:

I had the Tamiya equivalent (even more expensive!). I found the .2mm and .3mm most useful when it came to matching existing 1/72nd scribing on most kits - though .1mm might be more realistic.

On word of warning - drop them and the point will break :( I managed to break 2 in the space of a year, and though good, I've opted for move affordable (and robust) options. That said, given these are more affordable than Tamiya, I may give them a go myself. One benefit of these over some other scribers is that you can get into really tight corners.