Primer help needed

GordonD

I'm trying to prime some resin parts prior to the proper painting. I've never used primer before and though I've never had any trouble with spray cans in the past, this time I'm having all kinds of problems. I'm using a can of Revell Basic Color but though I've shaken it well the paint is only coming out if I hold the can at an angle. Even then it's spurting badly and not giving an even coat on the part. The only time it's producing a smooth flow is when I turn the can upside down to clear the nozzle at the end of the painting session.

Any suggestions?

i got some hycote car primer as i ran out of halfords ages ago, tried it today for the first ever time and im impressed...cheap too. got mine off ebay

If you have some cellulose thinners,it will pay to soak the nozzle in a bath of it. Clearing the end of dried paint,and,if you have an airbrush (I know that the 2 might not go together) you can blow air back up the end of the nozzle too. All this will clear the nozzle,and provided the can has been well shaken and slightly warmed,it should spray fine.

Rattle cans are useful even if you have an a/b as they are quick drying and no clean up but the cap/nozzles on them leave a lot to be desired sometimes.

HTH

mtd

Thanks for those tips, folks. I can't see the nozzle being blocked as it's a brand new can - though one thing I've noticed is that the can doesn't rattle when I'm shaking it. I'll try putting it in a bowl of warm water to see if that helps but if not I'll try another type of primer - Enzo Matrix once recommended Halford's own brand. I see they do various types, one of which appears to be specifically for plastic bumpers and the like. Would that do the trick? Failing that, should I just go for their standard grey?