Copper State Models RNAS Petty Officer armoured car division figure

Extra Cheese

I am just starting the Lanchester armoured car kit by CSM and have also treated myself to their Petty Officer miniature to go with it. (I intend to make a modest/simple "roadside" diorama to display them).

The Petty Officer moulding is absolutely beautiful - crisp, clean and with great "presence". For those who have not seen the CSM website, the model depicts a somewhat middle aged and corpulent figure wearing a huge (open) greatcoat,waistcoat and puttees. Pickwickian almost?

Anyway, I have no data available as to appropriate colours to finish. There is no information supplied with the model.

This would be my first miniature - I am a somewhat newbie at this and a bit of an old crock physically.

I would intend to airbrush the fellow first with a diluted grey primer, but from then on I'm flying blind.

I have read some old articles on painting figures, shading them etc. etc. and there is much to find on Yu Tube/internet etc. but - so far - nothing regarding RNAS WW1 uniforms.

I am reluctant to begin this opus - looking for excuses not to start yet!

Can anybody offer help or advice - or even better - has anybody done this particular figure?

Afternoon EC @Extra Cheese

had a look to see what I could find, most of the photo's are non colourised B&W, however you can see the difference between Navy blue and Khaki and the only photos I could find, mainly the Russian front 1915 - 1918, show the crews, officers, SNCO's and OR's wearing Khaki uniform, this being jackets, trousers and puttees. Fair bet that the boots were black and fairly 'well worn' there's little 'bull' on active service! Great coat, Hmmm! could have been Navy blue or Khaki...........your choice, though to my thinking, it would depend on how long the individual 'had in' (they would hang on to the Navy issue, if at all possible) or if they were volunteers 'for the duration', then Khaki is more likely.