1/72 Revell-gawa He 111H-2

***Note*** This build was not orignally in the Battle of Britain Group Build and so the initial post and a few of the subsequent posts make a little less sense than they perhaps should.***End note***

Well I'm starting my first WIP build here on britmodeller and my choice is the Revell He-111 H-6, built as Battle of Britain H-2 version. As most on here will likely know, the revell kit is a reboxing minus P/E of the Hasegawa tooling, and a very fine kit it looks indeed (at least from the sprues I've got and the ones I've seen built).

I'm no expert on the plane, just want to build one because the He-111 is one of the prettiest WW2 mediums, at least in my opinion. Also Feel free to help out with advice and tips along the way, as I've only been building models for 18 months or so, and I still have much to learn.

So, here it is

p1050180.jpg

You'll see I'm using a set of Eduard masks for the canopy and other glazing. I thought it prudent on a model with such a large amount of clear plastic in prominent places. I will be using Xtradecal markings (and indeed paints) from the recently released sheet. The aircraft is from 9./KG53 based at Lille during September 1940. The unusual feature of the aircraft is that it has pink formation/identification markings on the starboard wing and rudder.

See a pic of the real aircraft HERE

You'll notice there is a fair amount of overspray on the wing where the temporary markings were applied - should be interesting!

Anyway, I'm looking to have some fun with this build and if some of you want to come along for the ride then the more the merrier!

Rowan

Edited by rowmk9
  • Like 1

Hi,

Nice one.

But wouldn't you rather join the "Battle of Britain "groupbuild (starting 1 st Aug) with this one ?

You might get more direct help as you intend to build it as a BoB Heinkel.All the experts are present there.

See link...

http://www.britmodeller.com/forums/index.php?showforum=295