1:48 Revell Rafale M

This is my first attempt at a Work in Progress thread so please bear with me!

So after the mammoth effort of the Challenger diorama, (See Here) I thought I'd go for something less complex and belaboured smile.png
I picked this kit up off eBay quite cheaply simply because it looked neat and it had the bonus of some modelling tools such as sprue cutter, clamp and some more tweezers. Its been in the stash since February and I thought it would make an easy build.

Now, it occurred to me that we are always seeing planes modelled with gear down, canopy open and often pilot-less. This kit automatically assumes thats how you are going to build it - in fact the supplied canopy has tabs to display it open and the fuselage has slots for the tabs. This has struck me as quite sad - planes are meant to be seen in their natural element - looping around the sky, not trapped on the ground. Therefore I decided to build this as a flying example!

First problem - the aforementioned tabs and slots. Meh, not that big of a deal.
Second problem... no pilot figure!

So I found a "French Fighter Pilot" from PJ Productions (See Here) and the PE set from Eduard for the Rafale M.

After a lot of reshaping and a bit of chopping to make the pilot fit, the cockpit went together rather well. I'm afriad I dobn't ahve in progress pics, just these taken today... I only decided to do a WIP this evening, otherwise I'd have been cataloguing the progress over the last week...

DSCF4605.JPG