Eduard Sopwith Camel

Epeeman

Good god, this kit (so far) is a real experience in frustration -

I'm no where near installing top wing (where I am expecting problems) but getting things together is proving difficult. I have built some Eduard kits before and have had no great problems with fit. However, this Camel kit just does not want to fit together well. In addition, getting the PE parts on is fiddly beyond belief! These PE parts are not only tiny in this scale, but some require being folded into shape before fitting to the model. I'm beginning to wish I had gone for the weekend edition without these. In fact, I'm getting pretty put off from using these again in the future and wonder if the extra detail is really worth the effort.

As I have stated before, I am no professional modeller (build mainly OOB) so I suppose a more 'professional' modeller may not find this sort a kit such a challenge. I just hope I can get this kit together in the end.

Epeeman

I've certainly found it a challenge too, but I now have 7 x 1/48 Eduard kits with PE under my belt and it does get easier as you learn a few tricks. One of the best 'tricks' was to stick the entire fret of PE on to a piece of masking tape and use a new scalpel blade to detach the bits as required. To fold them I use an old blunt scalpel blade to hold the piece in place and the new one to reach under and lift/fold it into shape. I put superglue on the model with a small stick, not on the PE, then drop the piece onto the glue with pointy tweezers. Stick with it, it really is worth the effort - I can now make Spandau machine guns out of PE in my sleep! :)

Edited by 487 Squadron

Thanks, gentleman -