Russian Cold War jets

Simon Cornes

Can someone give me a quick idiot guide about what is worth buying and what should be avoided? I picked up a KP Frogfoot and thought it would be okay after a bit of old fashioned modelling but then I was looking at a Zvezda Su-39 (?) and it looked very nice. I don't know how accurate it is though! I also have a Zvezda Su-24 which I like but then discovered the Revell boxing!

Truth is, I'm no expert on Russian stuff so some sort of guide from te MiG 21 onward would be really useful to avoid some foobars!

Thanks

Simon

Can someone give me a quick idiot guide about what is worth buying and what should be avoided? I picked up a KP Frogfoot and thought it would be okay after a bit of old fashioned modelling but then I was looking at a Zvezda Su-39 (?) and it looked very nice. I don't know how accurate it is though! I also have a Zvezda Su-24 which I like but then discovered the Revell boxing!

Truth is, I'm no expert on Russian stuff so some sort of guide from te MiG 21 onward would be really useful to avoid some foobars!

Thanks

Simon

Here's a useful site for the MiG-21 in 1/72; there was also quite a lengthy and detailed thread either here or on the ARC Jets forum not long ago about MiG-21 kits, as well as a proposal for a MiG-21 group build, which I believe starts in January, 2012:

http://fishbed.pagesperso-orange.fr/fishbe...ling/index.html

The basic conclusions seemed to be that the Fujimi kits look good, but have some inaccuracies. The Revell MiG-21F-13 is quite accurate. The Zvezda MiG-21bis is very good, but has incorrect wheels - a company in Hungary called SPS is in the process of creating a corrected set, along with wheel wells for this kit if you need resin parts; if not, (and I hope I don't get ridiculed for this!) the wheels from a 1/72 P-47 look reasonably similar to a correct MiG-21bis pattern!