Airfix Lockheed F-117A 1/72

thought i would share my first kit in 20 years! the last model i made was the Tamiya Bradley sadly discontinued only the iraq 03 version is available now.

im lucky to have modellers world in halifax on my doorstep,the place has not changed in 20 years,same staff,same cramped shop with masses of kits piled high.i only had hour........plenty i thought but stepping inside the shop i realised i did not have enough time!what to get?

i needed something simple and that requires not a vast range of paints as im starting from scratch, so having to build up paints,brushes etc.........

i went for the Airfix 1/72 F-117A along with revell glue which seems to sets quicker than i remember along with acrylic paints which i have never used before...........its going to be interesting to see how i get on

terrible gap here so filled with plastic padding(i know the filler looks rough but easy to tidy up)

th_425549810_P2180003_122_913lo.JPG

insides given the 1st coat

th_255502573_P2180001_122_394lo.JPG

th_425550580_P2180002_122_541lo.JPG

need to find a good photo of the seat

thanks for looking any advice would be most welcome

I built this kit in 2006 and found it very enjoyable. Whilst it lacks detail compared to the Italeri kit, that isn't a bad thing since wrong details are worse than no detail.

I found it easy to build, and looked the part at the end - go ahead and enjoy!

well work is progressing slowly :closedeyes:

the basic kit is assembled and filled the gaps as previously mentioned and gave it a coat of matt black just to check for any more gaps,then gave it a rub down with very wet n dry paper, filled the rest of the gaps

th_448444283_f117a_122_587lo.jpg

the wing to fuselage join looks a lot better,due to its angular shape the sanding is easy with a little help from the grilfriends old nail polisher which turns out is ideal for modelling....loads of different attachments,its basically a mini dremmel