Face mask for Airbrushing ?

Mr Durden

Hi folks

Im getting into airbrushing and would like your feedback on safety issues with it. The first one

Is use of a face mask, I have read here you should be using a half face mask and safety glasses

as the cumulative effects of the paint and thinners can be pretty bad for you. Keeping this in mind

Would there be a particular mask I should be looking at, as further down the track I don’t really

Want any health issues because of my lack of planning now? .

Thanks for the feedback

Dave

I got one from Halfords which wasn't expensive.

It's the type with two filters sticking out to the sides and angled down about 30-40 degrees. Is it the right one? no idea, but I do know that spray Alclad without it = thumping headache, with it, no headache.

I'm no scientist, but it works for me.

Steve.

I am glad you are taking the precautions, as the previous person said get a good quality face mask with the 2 filters, and it may be best also to invest in a spray booth if you have not got one already, I only spray acrylic paint but it still needs the same precautions as using enamels.

I'm reading this with interest as I only spray acrylics and had read that a normal painters style dust mask was all that was required. If this is not the case then I'd better get down to halfords or B&Q before I do anymore spraying!

Being shortsighted, I normally wear glasses (and have a beard) and having been using this mask from Airbrushes.com,....

Respirator_002.jpg

... since I failed to find a replacement set of filters for my original 3M mask.

Respirator_001.jpg

I use Cellulose thinners a lot and in combination with my spray booth most of the nasties are kept out of my lungs.