P-47,

tim dix

Hi,

I chose the 1/72 P-47 starter kit for two reasons, a, it had six paints and 2 brushes, and B, I have never built a WWII kit before and fancied some thing new. The paints you get are, black, silver, yellow, red, olive drab and medium grey.These are great selection as from these you can do pretty much every colour you need, even a flesh tone to do the pilot. I quite like these paints as I dont really use an airbrush, (not for any grand 'I dont need one' reason, Ive got one, I am simply I am not very good at it!) I find you can water them down and use them to wash and stain the kit.

003-14.jpg

The kit looks ok, raised panel lines, lots of rivets, no cockpit detail at all, apart from a seat and a pilot, but this doeasn't really detract from the kit. Like I said, Ive never built an old plane before, so I wouldnt really know what was good and what was bad anyway.

I started by painting the engine (a mix of silver and black), and the insides of the wheel wells a mixed chromite yellow (ish)colour. I then tried mixing a better interior green, but failed until near the end of the build my wife suggested mixing the grey and yellow, as the grey is quite blueish it worked ok.

005-15.jpg

019-9.jpg

Next up was the pilot. I wasn't really sure what colour they would be wearing, so i just went for a greeny colour with yellow life jacket, and kind of gave him a wash of darkened base colur heavily watered down. Now I did make a bit of a mistake next, I thought the cockpit looked so sparse, I used a spare drop tank/ bomb (not sure what it was) from the kit, and some flash of the wings to make a bulk head and a control column, however, I then read the rules again and realised this may be a little bit on the wrong side of the line, so I removed them and left it the way Airfix intended. As it goes, it doesnt look too bad.

014-10.jpg

020-7.jpg