Heraldcoupe's builds

Both have been sat in various lofts for the past 25 years, about time I did something with them.

There's a Lagg-3 and a Lag-5, both 1/72 from the same unknown source.

DSCF0441.jpg

DSCF0443.jpg

Nice simple kits, no idea on their accuracy but a good re-introduction to vac modelling. The Lagg-3 will need a new canopy as the original has gone awol, but the other one should provide a pattern.

So off to scour Google for some cockpit images,

Cheers,

Bill.

Edited by Heraldcoupe

Ooooh... you can't beat a 100% vacform kit! :lol: My MB-5 was like that... even the struts & props were vacced. Lots of lovely fun to be had there! ;)

i'm no expert but wouldn't the cannopy be the same dimentions as it is moulded onto the fuselage or is that just me ??

Yes it will be. However the simple answer is to fill the other kit's canopy with resin, then use the resulting plug to form a new canopy from PETG.

Cheers,

Bill.

First under the knofe is the LaGG-3.

I quickly marked around the major parts with a fine marker pen, like so:

DSCF0444.jpg

I've not marked out all the parts as many of the smaller items will probably be sourced from the spares box. Anyway, after a couple of hours of cutting and sanding, I'm left with this random assortment of ill fitting parts:

DSCF0445.jpg

Doesn't look too bad until you make comparisons between the upper wing halves:

DSCF0446.jpg

That gives an interesting join where it meets the fuselage, the short one seems to be the odd one out as the rest aligns pretty well. Still, I didn't pick this for an easy life, and I've already learnt a lot about the LaGGs by trawling the internet,

Cheers,

Bill.

Zoiks! :shocked: That's a bit of a faux pas on their behalf. I'm sure a lot of companies never attempt a test build of their own stuff :doh: I don't blame you for not wanting to use things like vacform wheels etc. They're horrible! :lol:

Hey Bill,