Hurricane AK-G, BP592 photo needed

Jarek_G

Hello everybody.

First of all, I would like to introduce myself.

I'm a modeler from Poland and reader of Britmodeller and its forums. I'm building planes in 1/48th scale and vehicles in 1/35th.

Secondly - models that you presented on Britmodeller are great and of my interest, especially Spitfires and Hurricanes.

My question, or should I say questions are related to the last one. I saw somewhere (it was probably Polish monograph from AJ-Press 'Hawker Hurricane') Hurricane Mk. IIc from 213rd RAF Squadron AK-G with serial 'BP592' in desert scheme. I think that this could be the same plane that Trumpeter realesed on decals with its kit in 1/24th scale few years ago. But there are some differencies between plate from monograph and plate from Trumpeter's boxart - Hurricane from book has squiggle camouflage (narrow, snake-like lines) not spots on the fuselage front and wings leading edges as in Trumpeter instruction.

Here is an example of what I'm talking about:

Hurricane_AKoG_2.jpg

And there are my questions: is there any photograph of the real AK-G 'BP592' exists?

Or maybe there is a photo of other Hurri Mk.IIc with spots on fuselage front and wings (I'm aware of those Hurricanes from Greece, but they are Mk.I as I remember correctly)?

I'm going to paint Hasegawa 1:48th kit in desert scheme with some variation from standard. Scheme on that Hurricane AK-G with that 'italian' feel looks much more interesting for me than that from monograph, but I wanted to be historically correct, so that's why my question.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Best regards

Jarek Gurgul

Hi Jarek and welcome to Britmodeller

this is the subject of the Smer 1/72 Hurri IIC kit. have a profile or two but no pics i am afraid.

there were some FAA hurris with sand and spinach on BM recently ad a build of the same.

i am more familiar with MkI sand and spinach Hurris of which some photos exist