Bronco Staghound

spitfire

If you really want to drive yourself round the bend then I would recommend this kit, it's got lots and lots of very tiny parts, I've been plugging away at it while stalled (waiting for paint to dry etc) on the P-39D.

The instruction would have you build the hull in parts and then assemble them, luckily I'd read a build article some where which did not recommend this method, I can see why now ! So if you want a Staghound I would recommend the Italeri one.

Cheers

Den

spacer.png

spacer.png

Edited by spitfire
Replaced Photobucket photos

Well it did not go in the bin, I'm still plugging away at it, the engineering in the kit is pretty fantastic but building is slow due to the large number of tiny parts, now I know how you 1/72 scale modellers feel ! The parts are tiny but also when you cut the parts from the sprue a tiny pip of plastic is left on the part which needs cleaning up.

This is the progress so far, note that I'm not an expert at anything, armour for me is for fun, though I do like to get it as accurate as I can.

Cheers

Den

the hull so far

spacer.png

All those suspension bits

spacer.png

The gun mantle, got very terse putting this together.

spacer.png

Hull and wheels

spacer.png

And just to show how big the Staghound is here it is alongside a Firefly, the Firefly was my first venture into 1/35 armour in the mid 1980's, and looks a bit sad now.

spacer.png

Edited by spitfire

That is a detailed little beastie, isn't it? Keep up the good work though Den... those tyres look rather nice :thumbsup:

Mike - Armour Neophyte

Yes it's getting a bit addictive, I'm working on it now, the tyres are painted with my favourite Humbrol H67, well back to it.

Cheers

Den

Yeah, I have the Italeri Staghound and it looks like a super little kit. The Bronco Humber Scout Car is just the same - massive parts count. Why have a 1 piece hull when it can be made from 14 pieces? :doh: