Working with resin: help needed please

Mancunian airman

Hi everybody

I was looking through a long lost stash  and came across a number of resin kits produced by 'Model Transport'.

I noticed that on a number of them the chassis isnt perfectly flat  . . .

I appreciate that there is evidence of flash then has to be removed . . .

A couple of question if I may . . .

I presume you would have to wash in soapy water to remove some form of molding  agent?

Do you use boiling water to straighten parts ? 

What is the best compound to fill in the odd 'bubble' ?

What type of glue is recommended  for resin ?

Is it advisable to undercoat before painting ? (I am still a brush painter)

Any other tips and advice would be welcomed to obtain the best results

many thanks 

Ian 

• Thanks 2

I can't honestly help!....but you have asked a number of questions that I am keen to hear the brain trust's thoughts on.

My resin dilemmas are mostly due to resin conversion parts for aircraft but the techniques used are the same I am sure.....

.... looking forward to hearing what the more experienced modellers of BM have to say on the topic.

• Thanks 1

• 1 month later...
On 22/05/2023 at 09:50, Mancunian airman said:

I presume you would have to wash in soapy water to remove some form of molding  agent?

Best practice is to do so

Do you use boiling water to straighten parts ? 

Some times you can. Clamp firmly between 2 metal plates to force the chassis flat. Pour boiling hot water directly on to the chassis, on all four sides then dunk in very cold water

What is the best compound to fill in the odd 'bubble' ?

I use Revell Plasto for small air bubbles and UV light hardening resin for larger holes or to fill larger chips or joint gaps

What type of glue is recommended  for resin ?

I use superglues, mainly the thicker gel type. I also use 'plastic soup' - aka 'sprue goo'

Is it advisable to undercoat before painting ? (I am still a brush painter)