HELP - New to aircraft modelling

Bill1974

Hello everyone,

I have some experience of modelling tanks and have decided to move to aircraft.

I have before me an airfix fairey swordfish Mk 1 in 1:72.

How do I go about making this kit / aircraft?

It seems a completely different type of modelling as there are much smaller parts that require painting ‘whilst’ being built rather than tanks where you leave some bits and bobs in separate parts but end up with something you can prime and paint in relatively easy steps.

With this swordfish it has colours from the start that need priming and final colour painting from the get go? 

How is ‘it’ done, paint as you go or build and finish in large parts then paint?

I hope this makes sense.

Well, my advice is to not start your aircraft modelling with a Swordfish - or indeed any biplane (they still make me nervous). I'm not surprised you are a bit overwhelmed. Start with something simpler  - how about a Spitfire - and maybe have the Swordfish as an objective when you've built up some experience.

There's a few hints and tips here:

Good luck

Mark

• Like 8

1 hour ago, Bill1974 said:

How is ‘it’ done, paint as you go or build and finish in large parts then paint?

Both really. You have to paint interior parts before assembly although you can do sub-assemblies if they are mostly one colour and you are sure you can easily paint the other colours needed. Some parts that are different colours from the parts they attach to are best painted separately unless you are good at accurate painting.

Visible engines - usually radial ones like that in the Swordfish - are best painted separately and added at the end if possible, otherwise you'll have to mask them.