ICM Kits

Solexman

Getting back into the hobby I’m amazed at the range out there ,particularly of unusual subjects , and I’ve been perusing IMC kits. A very interesting range of subjects.

But what are everyone’s thoughts on their quality? I’m not looking for complete beginner level kits, I’m fairly competent I think. But at the same time I don’t want kits that are just going to pee me right off! 😂

Edited by Solexman
Typo!

Hi Solexman,

welcome back, things change pretty quickly these days, modelling is no exception.

ICM have come on in leaps and bounds and their recent offerings have been really very good in my opinion.

I built one of the 1/48 Spitfires a few years ago and it was nicely detailed but had a few minor fit problems, was a bit fiddly and also had a few sink marks. Fast forward to the last 18 months and I recently completed the Sea Gladiator and DH Tiger Moth. Both were an absolute joy with quality mouldings and very few assembly problems.

They do have, as you say, a huge range and you didn't stipulate the genre of modelling you do. I have only built the above aircraft but, have not heard of any complaints about their other offerings.

Hope this helps. 

Atb, Steve.

• Like 1

Hi Solexman,

I recently had the 1/24th Model T Ford Speedster and while I had to part with it before building (health issues) , I had no reason to think it was poor in any way and I was looking forward to building it. The mouldings were beautifully clean and nicely done and way better than the older AMT offering. Personally, I felt that the wheels were under-detailed and didn't match the details of photos of the real car but that could have been rectified fairly easily. I've seen versions of the same scale fire truck and was very impressed with the end result. The Speedster looks to be a fairly accurate rendition of one held in the Czar Nicholas Collection but there are plenty of small variations in current use.