Tamiya King George V

First time posting on here.  Thought I would share my current King George V build with Pontos detail kit that I started mid December.  I am still new to building ships and the detail kits so any advice or suggestions are greatly appreciated.  

The first thing I will point out is I made a mistake that I didn't realize until well into the build.  The Pontos detail kit is actually for the Prince of Wales kit and I definitely got the King George V kit.  Oh well I have been able to do some scratch building to adjust and keep everything rolling along.  I am pretty happy with it so far.  

HMS King George V HMS King George V HMS King George V HMS King George V HMS King George V HMS King George V

I still have quite a bit of deck work and all the AA guns left to do.  I will post more as I continue to work along.  

• Like 10

If I may suggest, tint wooden deck, since as it is now it looks out of scale- singular color, wood grain..... Use fine brush, diluted paint (some sand and lt. brown, I use 2 sand, and 2 lt brown shades). Work plank by plank randomly. I recommend using oil based colors (I prefer Humbrol), since it offers longer drying time, and possibility to correct any mistakes (with thinners). And I do apologize if I jumped the gun with this comment, and you already planned to do it in your own way.

Hey Zoran, your not jumping the gun at all.  The deck is something I have been trying to figure out.  The contrast is definitely throwing it off to me, enough to cause me to stop last weekend and set things aside while I determine my next steps.  I was trying to find an image of the deck to see if it was tinted or painted before I moved on with any of the other steps.  I have done a couple of American battleships that had the deck blue, but I got the pre-stained pontos decks both times.  This would be my first time doing it myself if I chose to go that route. So any advice is greatly appreciated.