1:48 de Havilland Mosquito FB Mk.VI - Banff Strike Wing *FINISHED*

Dunny

Hi All,

My next project is Tamiya's lovely Mosquito. Now I have built this kit a couple of times in my pre-BM days, but this is my first build in a few years. I know therefore that it is a lovely kit to build. Although much modelled, here is the box art:

20221119-124211.jpg

Here's the sprue shots:

20221119-123826.jpg

20221119-123854.jpg

20221119-123922.jpg

I've got a few extras for this build:

20221119-123942.jpg

I've just finished re-reading this in preparation for the build:

A-Separate-Little-War.jpg

If you get a chance to read it, it is an excellent account of the actions of the Banff Strike wing. I am still debating which aircraft to model - the mount of the Wing's C/O, Group Captain Max Aitken DSO DFC is currently the favoured option. There's a few photos of this aircraft: 

Mossie-1.jpg

Mossie-2.jpg

And this one in B/W with half invasion stripes:

Stripes.jpg

Other elements of note are the red spinners, the group captain's pennant and the bare metal auxiliary fuel tanks. Now although I know that the aircraft serial number is HR366, I confess that I do not currently know the squadron code for 235 Sqn ('KK'?) or the aircraft code - I'm sure someone will have this information! None of this stops me from getting on with the build, so off we jolly we trot!

Thanks for looking,

Roger

• Like 12

53 minutes ago, bigbadbadge said:

Ooooooo a Mossie, looking forward to this and extras too. Awesome stuff.

Chris

Thanks Chris - I felt it was time to do one!

• Like 2

Not just a Mossie but a Banff Mossie.

I have plans for one of these from the same kit.

Really looking forward to this one Roger. So much so that I'll need to put off the Beaufort so I can concentrate properly. :wicked:

Cheers,

Alistair

• Haha 2