The Tyne Paddle Tug 'Eppleton Hall'

Faraway

This is a new type of build for me, I've never done a paddler before. Probably because there are very few paddle boat kits 'out there'.

I've already done the two other kits from Neomega, a Clyde Puffer and a TID Tug. Both excellent little kits which were not over complicated and went together well, so it made sense, to me anyway, to build this.

She still exists, and is in the San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park, it is a shame that she is not here in the UK. Hey Ho.

As you can see from this this box, the kit is in 1/144 scale and is resin and PE, so lots of cutting and sanding before bits can go together.

So without further ado, here we go.

p?i=7694ff0901a8e201657edcf1ef4d367c

A nicely cast hull

p?i=710bfaae2e66c5dc0f6d2f8e957f397f

With nice thin bulwarks. Neomega have provided decals for the name, which might be easier to apply than paint the letters. I shall ponder this once the hull is painted.

p?i=fe1a4a6f646063ad854eb17b907345ac

A detailed sheet of PE.

Although, as you can see, the name is incorrect. And Neomega do apologise for this.

p?i=8a28000f155594c2ad9a698ef86eacb7

Lots of bits and bobs, I'm sure they will make sense as building progresses.

p?i=cad47f8f1950338c0c959ad540d08538

p?i=7ea704e297aee16def00575d4d1906ed

p?i=b02f0b979a7a397c181f6f94e61aa57e

p?i=53ca5cb56721c616a210411c1b3da5a4

As I am doing her as 'waterline' the same as the other two, she has to have a crew.

p?i=17bb289a8222033603ba2dfbf34f1a0a

These are also from Neomega, difficult to see how they are but a coat of primer will sort that.

As you can see, the moulded deck planks nicely produced.

p?i=f7bb16bcdbdad65412def8addbb39934

p?i=ac606fc67f01449e57861521cbeb9c9d

But, rather than paint them, I thought I'd add real wood, so......

p?i=1824d3ac9251410448a822e91adb9078

The camera or lighting seems to have leached the colour out of it, it is a lot browner than this.