Hendie's 1971 VW T2 Bay Window Devon Conversion conversion

hendie

With the 504 lining up for finals it gets to that point where a job gets done and you need to wait around for things to cure/dry/wilt/fall off and get stuck on again before you can proceed to the next job so in between rounds with the 504 I have been tinkering on and off with this my latest project.   This is another project I've been hankering to do for many years but there was never a kit available, or even a suitable base kit to begin bashing around. However, in the last year or so Revell came to the rescue with the release of their series of VW T2 Bay Window vans. They released 2 vans in the series, a standard VW T2 Bay Window and a T2 Camper (a Vanagon I believe).

Back in the old country my wife and I always enjoyed a lot of camping and after a few years of humping tents around we bought an old Dodge Commer (Post Office?) Camper and had a few trips around the country. Mainly interrupted and frustrating trips as the engine kept overheating.  My wife's dream though was to have a VW Camper and after the Commer succumbed to rustitis we searched around for a VW. There were many around but almost just as many had not been looked after and were in poor shape.  I did eventually come across one though and it was local so we went to take a look.