HM Bark Endeavour +++FINISHED+++

Hello all!

I have been building this for a little while (about a month), and have decided rather belatedly to do a WIP for it, I hope you do not mind. I will update a few stages at a time to prevent overload!

Way back when I were a nipper, Father Christmas delivered of me a fine, large box under the spreading Christmas tree, and inside I found a lovely sailing ship! Now, I were only 8 or 9 at the time, and I found it was a bit of a 'challenge', so my plucky dad built it for me. The kit was, from memory, moulded in a Cadbury's Milk Chocolate-coloured plastic. Dad did not paint it, but it still looked the bees knees to me, especially as the ship even had a crew of five supplied. And pre-moulded ratlines that he had to cut out and fit.

A few years ago, I decided to revisit my childhood and have a go at Endeavour myself. I started painting it with oil paints to try and replicate a wood effect, that worked quite well, and then I decided to try something that I had read about in a book, and see if I could make the ratlines myself. I modified the appropriate parts, fitted the vertical ratline rigging, then found I was not dextrous enough to tie the knots. It was sat up on my hi-fi's speaker for years until it met a sticky end.

Last year, my son gave me another kit of Endeavour as a birthday present, in the glorious red box that has become Airfix's trademark:

DSCN8798 (2)