1/144 Revell A320 Swiss

Hi all,

This is my second attempt of building civilian aircraft and I am still learning many techniques.  My first one was a same kit, but done in Lufthansa livery. 

Knowing these kits have a small number of parts, I thought it would be a quick build, but I was dead wrong.

Never knew how complex it could be dealing w/ painting...  And I found out people basically block out all of the windows and that is exactly what I have done here. 

The build is straight forward, but I found out that there are many after market decals, so I used Draw decals for Swiss logos and also used Pas decals for windows. 

I gave multiple coats of clear with Gunze Super Clear III.  It gave some incredible shine in the beginning, but now after some weeks, it is starting to lose shine. 

The reason is pretty simple, the thinner getting evaporated, and the clear coat shrinking caused the shine to diminish a bit.  I should know this, coming from building autos...

Next time, I would like to try something different to prevent that.

I used to build everything when I was young, but I have been strictly building autos for many years.  Then the hobby got away from me for awhile and now I am picking things up again. 

As I tried to learn new things and re-learn the know-hows, I must admit that this is definitely a hobby that needs dedication and patience.  

Unfortunately, this is probably why this industry isn't picking up with young kids, I don't see how this hobby can compete against something such as playing video games. 😉

Having said that, my respect to you all, we are not easy and we know how to pursue what we like for a long time!

Steve

spacer.png

spacer.png

spacer.png

spacer.png

spacer.png

spacer.png

spacer.png

spacer.png

spacer.png

spacer.png

• Like 32
  • Thanks 2

17 minutes ago, Abandoned Project said:

Amazing A320s.Hey @Corsairfoxfouruncle, another great modeller from the Windy City.