1/350 Trumpeter USS Arleigh Burke Destroyer

I just put the finishing touches on this one a couple weeks ago, and I'm pretty pleased with how it turned out, especially since it's only my third ship model ever, and my first modern naval kit.  I like to think I'm getting better at the water bases; at least I'm still learning what works and what doesn't.  I augmented the kit with the GMM photo etch set, and painted it with Tamiya acrylics and weathered with Abteilung oils.

lxbZIcd.jpg

khPsbgZ.jpg

yuugoxA.jpg

HWogTIi.jpg

clOeyL9.jpg

lkkV8Ud.jpg

GbXKfbX.jpg

p8DYOqb.jpg

31jza9j.jpg

Q4CKsEf.jpg?1

mSp336n.jpg

ggF9VDW.jpg

bYOVh3Y.jpg

NBq4XZG.jpg

npScF6x.jpg

b9ULhBM.jpg

SFfdtH1.jpg

• Like 70

Unbelievable. That really is a masterpiece. As @coneheadff says, that water looks completely real, the only downside is that you didn't do a build log of it.

The Burke though, oh my. I've been zooming in on this beast and if you can get a shot without the table or something in the background, looks like a photo of the real thing. My favourite part though? It's the foredeck capstan (I know, I'm sorry, and yes I did see the mast, rigging/aerials etc), but the weathering on such a small piece is just so lifelike that it underscores just how good this build is.

Third ship in? Hopefully you've got another one in the works.

David

Edited by Adm Lord De Univers
speeling

That is a Cracking build and the water is superb, really, really nice.

I love the sea surface - gel or putty? - do you mind sharing how you got such a realistic effect?

Outstanding :clap2:

Rob