USAAC training markings 1941

Whirly

Hello,

I'm currently finishing a Special Hobby N.A. BT-9 in the KUTA group build, see the links if you are interested:

While applying the decals supplied I found myself with three sets of individual numbers '292', two are for the wing leading edge like in this example:

North American : BT-9C

I don't know what to do with the third one, nothing can be found in the instructions.

Then I studied again a high resolution version of the only image I have of '292' and noticed a shadow over the underwing 'ARMY'. 

2022-03-02_09-38-53

Maybe it shows where the third decals goes?

Here are the intructions for reference, hope to not breach any forum rule linking to a commercial site

https://www.super-hobby.hu/zdjecia/9/4/2/1152_2_SPH72069_4.jpg

Thank you!

Any chance It could just be a spare decal?

Considering it's small size, it really wouldn't serve it's purpose on the under wing location as a marking viewed when in flight. but that is just an opinion.  No doubt there is something in the colour photo you have pointed out.   Difficult to make out exactly, but seems to be only two digits or letters, and kind of resembles CT?  

It doesn't appear to be standard to have anything above above the ARMY logo either:

spacer.png

regards,

Jack

• Like 1

Hi Jack,

I checked all the images available online, including that you just posted: none is showing a code above 'ARMY', but I think this addition is linked to the code 46ED292 over the wing and split in two on the fin.

This seem a revision of the markings which came very late in the BT-9 career, hence it is so difficult to see from all sides.

I *guess* the correct rendering would be something like this P-36, so 46ED292 (not 292 only) in small characters above 'ARMY', but it's just a speculation from my part as I'm not expert of those markings!

Rgds

Curtiss_P-36A_38-33_16th_Pursuit_Group_1

• Like 3