PK-127 de Havilland Twin Otter

I found the box in our lean-to, which means it (along with a couple of other non-Matchbox kits, including USS Voyager (NCC-74656)) had been subject to years of extreme cold, extreme heat, sunlight, and rainwater coming in through the leaky roof...

Box - Front

Box - Rear

Seems I started painting it when I first bought it gawd-knows-when, but here are various parts being prepped to recoat with thinned paints (a concept I had NO idea of when I started doing models as a kid back in the early 1970s!):

Various pieces

But before I can paint properly I found I have other parts to glue on. These little things that went on the underside of the wings (can anyone name what they're meant to represent?) were fiddly little so-and-sos as there were no significant recesses for them):

Wings with fiddly bits

I'll post a photo of the parlous state of the decals when I get home...

• Like 9

Great stuff Jeff

Many modellers spend a great deal of time weathering their builds, I believe you are the first I've seen to ever weather the box :thumbsup:

Dave aka @Rabbit Leaderwill know what the bits under the wings are called, he's probably got some as paperweights on his desk at work !

Best of luck with this one.

Cheers Pat 

• Haha 8

40 minutes ago, JOCKNEY said:

Great stuff Jeff

Many modellers spend a great deal of time weathering their builds, I believe you are the first I've seen to ever weather the box :thumbsup:

That made me chuckle! 😄👍

• Thanks 1

Yep, good to see another Twin Otter (it has gotta be the most popular type at the mo, hasn't it?). They are flap actuators, and I have always struggled to get them to fit properly. Having said that, once glued, I have never lost one despite using the wings as handling props!

Good luck with the build, I will keep dropping in, and I am so very glad you managed to find it after all!

Ray

• Like 3