Where Do I Start Please

Tijuana Taxi

Total novice when it comes to any type of diorama modelling and need some advice please.

Bought the item below in an Amazon warehouse sale for a couple of quid, but where to begin and what with?

Assuming it needs building up with some sort of plaster, putty, filler before an attempt at further detail.

Then obviously some form of ground coverage, foilage and no doubt many other features to add realism

Should add that I haven't got a model in mind to display, got it to try my hand at diorama/vignette construction.

Some of the bases I have seen are very lifelike, but as a novice i'm finding it rather daunting.

I am ok with painting ( brush and airbrush} but not this type of artistic modelling using other mediums.

Tried to look on Youtube, but the amount of videos is overwhelming and having trouble finding what I need.

So many although listed as beginner assume you have existing knowledge which I don't

Suggestions for any printed matter would be very welcome, even better replies with details on this thread or links to articles/videos

Thanks very much in anticipation of your assistance

Rich

spacer.png

Edited by Tijuana Taxi
  • Like 1

• Tijuana Taxi changed the title to Where Do I Start Please

I've not used this base specifically, but I'd suggest you won't need to plaster or putty the base since the natural formations should already be in place.

You will want to look into texture paints for covering the base. There are a great selection from Vallejo, Tamiya, AK and others. Most will just need thinning with some water when you apply, so it doesn't lose the texture of the base itself.

For the grass, have a look at static grass applicators - not cheap but can be used for all diorama projects. I use the Peco/WSW one, there are lots of specific videos online about them and you can build your own too. Static grass itself is pretty cheap and available from most model railway shops.

48 minutes ago, Tim R-T-C said: