Revell Aqua colour. Water down or not?

Roy-Adam

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie and I'm waiting on a delivery of Revell Aqua colour paint.  I'll mainly be applying by brush and I read somewhere that this paint needs watering down for airbrush or brush use.  I would have thought that no thinning is required for brush use, but I don't want to be wrong. Any views please?

Roy

You can use them straight out of the pot, but if you're ok to give it a couple of coats then it's better to thin down (water is ok, although I prefer the aqua thinner) as you tend to get less in the way of brush marks. Also be aware that some colours cover better than others - the gold and whites in particular are likely to need more than two coats whether you thin them down or not. I've never airbrushed them so can't speak on that score. Also, the semi-gloss black (302) appears to form lumps if thinned too much, not sure why this colour has and none of the others but something else to be aware of (you'll be fine for a while with new pots though).

1 minute ago, Roy-Adam said:

Thank you Jenko. 

Sorry didn't notice you are in Spain not the UK.  :doh:

Dick

Edited by jenko

No worries Jenko. I guess you're referring to availability?  To be honest that was one reason why I chose to use Revell Aqua instead of their enamel, because they are not allowed to deliver internationally as it's flammable. I'm new to modelling but I hope I'll find a Spanish supplier, but they seem to be like rocking horse p**.

Smiled at rocking horse P** even at 85 years old that is a new one on me. Thank you for expanding my vocabulary.  Regarding paint as a long time user of Aqua I would say that more often than not it should be thinned. It also doesn’t have great gloss properties in my experience & needs a top coat of a modelling gloss varnish if this is what you require.

• Like 1