Attention Luftwaffe Experts... He162 Color Help needed

Tokyo Raider

Hi Friends...  I started a 6 model Luftwaffe build binge...  I am on my second plane, a He162 wk number 120067, otherwise known as White 4.  

I have found 4 to 5 photos of this plane that I am studying.  I even found a parted out photo of it late 1945/46 with faded paint, but topside of wing visible...

The help I need is from Experten on late war German aircraft...  i have read that the early builds of the He162 (which this is) had the fuselage painted in RLM71.  From the photos, the power egg is darker than fuse, so its probably RLM81.  The fuselage is slightly lighter than this, but way darker than RLM82 light green.

Do you guys know if there was truth to the RLM71 fuselage rumor, or are bets that its fuselage is RLM83 dark green?

The 83 worries me as its darker than 81, and power egg is darker than the fuselage.

Anyone out there done a He162 and careful about colors?  Thanks for any help you have...

Hi Bob

I'm not one of the experten here, but I think I'm right in saying that RLM71 was discontinued for camo use (it was retained for propeller use) a year or so previously.  So I'd be surprised if the fuselage was indeed 71.  IMHO, the colours for the 162 are likely to be the late-war RLM 81 and 82, over a base of either RLM 76 or the late war variation referred to as '84'.  Bear in mind that what is sometimes called 'RLM83' green was more than likely just one of the late war variations of RLM81, which seems to have been produced in two or more discrete variants, one being a dark brown (or dark olive), and another being a dark green.  So the darker colour is probably going to be 81 (green or brown) while the lighter colour is going to be 82 (green).  I built a 162 a while back and finished it in the brown 81 + 82 combo.

(Correction re above - it was RLM70 which was retained for prop use - not 71.  I believe both were discontinued as camo colours though)