British sherman with interior, Normandy.

Tiger_king

I apologise if this has been asked before but I can't find the answer I'm looking for. 

So I've just finished reading 'Warriors for the working day' and it's inspired me to create a diorama of a British sherman in Normandy. Its a fantastic book by the way, really gave you a sense of the breakdown experienced by men in prolonged combat and the utter randomness of death. 

Any tips on the best kit to get as I've figured 1/35 sherman are a bit of minefield. Going to be set in late June 1944 and I would like an interior. Cheers! 

I'm no expert, but I don't think Tamiya have produced any AFV's with a full interior in 1/35th. Have a look at the Rye fields Models and Miniart range. I know that Academy used to produce a smattering of full-interior kits, but don't think the Sherman is one of them.

Alternatively, you could keep an eye on E-Bay for aftermarket interior sets. I think Verlinden used to produce a resin M-4 interior set, but they closed their operation down some years ago. The big disadvantage of going the aftermarket route is that it'll be more expensive than buying a fully-equipped kit, in all probability.    

Another alternative, put a listing on websites like this one and other 'sites devoted to armour-modelling. You might be surprised at the efforts your fellow-modellers will go to to help out. BTW, I believe that to put a wanted listing on Britmodeller, you need to have a minimum of 100 posts to your name - this is to reduce the possibility of fraudulent transactions being made.

Good luck in your search.

Chris.    

• Thanks 1

There are no interior kits of the usual WW2 Shermans.  The only one remotely close is RFMs M4A3E8 but that is only appropriate for US Army in 1945.  The interior cannot be adapted to earlier-generation Shermans.  I won't bore you with why: it just can't.