Switching to Acrylics?

RidgeRunner

Hi all,

I am a 100% enamels users but, for health reasons, I am considering a switch to acrylics. In the past I have been through a similar period of consideration and stuck with my enamels. However, I probably should try. I have a few questions for the collective and would be grateful if your advice:

1. are acrylics as durable as enamels once hardened?

2. when using how do you keep the flow? My little experience of acrylics has meant a rapid clogging of the airbrush

3. is the range of colours as good as enamels? I am primarily a post war jets builder. any suggestions?

4. how easy is clean-up post painting! 

5. How are acrylics thinned? Water? 

6. I think enamel washes can be used over acrylics?

That’ll probably do for now! ;). Thanks in advance.

Martin

• Like 1

In the following I am talking about vinyl acrylics rather than the alcohol acrylics like Mr Hobby Color or Tamiya.

When I am using acrylics for airbrush work my preferred is Lifecolor using their thinners. I have come to like Lifecolor a lot. I have less tip dry issues with them than others.

In my experience:

1. are acrylics as durable as enamels once hardened? 

No, they are not. Lifecolor does dry robust but not to the level of enamels.

2. when using how do you keep the flow? My little experience of acrylics has meant a rapid clogging of the airbrush