Typhoon/Tempest, why the tubeframe?

Bozothenutter

I'm no expert on these types but as a guess I would say it had something to do with Hawker's established and proven methods, allied to strength and ease of production to maximise output. After all it's a lot easier and quicker to design and build something if you can incorporate and utilise as many elements as possible of what you've done before. Saves you having to completely reinvent the wheel!

Regards

Colin.

• Like 7

I'm no expert either, but strongly suspect comrade fishplanebeer is on the right track.

Remember also that the design was developed pretty quickly (further incentive to stick with the tried-and-true), and was originally designed for two different engines requiring changes in the airframe (the Vulture-engined Tornado prototypes had a taller nose, lowered wing, and other differences from the Typhoon). I would think this would be easier to accomplish with the steel tube frame. 

Edited by MDriskill
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

39 minutes ago, Bozothenutter said:

Almost looks like they put a Hurricane in there......

as @fishplanebeer says, build on established ideas.  Hawker were fairly conservative, and built on existing techniques.   the Typhoon/Tornado were on the drawing board in 1937, before the Hurricane had entered service,  the Tempest is basically a Typhoon fuselage with a new wing.... the Sea Fury is a Tempest wing with a new fuselage.... 

• Like 4

1 hour ago, Bozothenutter said:

Evolutionary design then.

Building a monocoque, then stuffing in scaffolding, seems a bit belt AND braces though.

But it WAS a damn strong aircraft I suppose.