Diorama newbie question

Michael Morris

I'm new to dioramas.  I've bought some styrofoam to act as a base for my first diorama and some scenic materials for the landscape features.  The only thing I need to sort out before I start on some test pieces is what to use to model the ground itself?

I see some using hydrocal, some plaster of Paris, some plaster and others a mixture of plaster of Paris and sawdust.  What are the best materials for producing a surface to cover styrofoam and produce a durable realistic surface in 1/144 and 1/72 scale?

Thanks 

Poundworld - a tub of grouting for all of £1

It can be spread with a knife or piece of card. Remains very flexible for a while allowing it to be worked. Thick enough it doesn't run but it will settle smoother as it dries so  you need to keep working it a bit to form shapes such as waves or field furrows

It was used here for both the sea and land (over card and polystyrene shape bases)

D-Day%2075th%20Anniversary%20display%2C%

D-Day%2075th%20Anniversary%20display%2C%

This was a base at the early stages. Covered in the grouting and worked

Line%2C%2001s-M.jpg

and later

Line%2C%2003s-M.jpg

and with grass

Line%2C%2008s-M.jpg

and the end scene

Line%2C%2029s-M.jpg

• Like 4

@Michael Morris, while I haven't made ground surfaces at the scale you're asking about, I have at 1/35, and think that some of this info might be useful for you and your project.  I'm sorry about the photos, they're old and might not be the best size for this, but here we go!

I start the base with rigid insulating foam - 

51206045609_ab58178afa_c.jpg

After cutting up the general shapes I want, glue it together with wood glue (carpenters).  Yes - this process, cutting, carving, sanding etc makes a BIG mess!  Pink dust and chunks fly!