Hello from London

Tonkatime

Hello my fellow BM people. My name is Jason and I'm another returnee to the hobby after [redacted] years... Been lurking in this parish for sometime, equally being inspired by, and a little intimidated by, the work and knowledge on display here.

Main interests are military fighters from the 1980s onward but it has been known for the odd Airbus to put an appearance on the workbench and that Hawker Typhoon which keeps calling me from the stash...

Anyway, I hope to go from 'ambitious but rubbish' to 'ambitious but vaguely acceptable' and excuse me now for any daft questions.

• Like 4

Welcome, Jason/Tonkatime! I'm a returnee newbie too, but I am already very much valuing this forum. I've learned a lot, and I'm having fun, AND gaining some more confidence. Of course, there are models shown here which make me gasp in awe, absolutely. I have to remember... it is NOT a competition (EXCEPT for competitions, obviously)!

I think we beginners simply have to remember to practice, experiment, research and have much patience. Heck, I have to remind MYSELF of that constantly.

cheers,

Charles

• Like 1

Hello Jason … :post1: from the second coty of America Chicago, Im mostly aircraft myself. I focus from the 1930’s trough to modern types mostly. Please as @Charles H says don't be intimidated as it isnt a contest. Not even in the group build areas, those are more like a circus and comedy club mashed together. 99.999% members of the forum are extremely friendly and will bend over backwards to help you. That last .001% wont say much of anything, as they will usually get a swift response from the rest of us. Those builds you think are intimidating, I bet if you asked some of the members opinions. That member could point and say he/she is disappointed in something about it.  

Dennis

Edited by Corsairfoxfouruncle
  • Like 1

Welcome, Jason.