Airbrush/paint advice for clueless hairy stick painter

Vulcanicity

Hi folks!

I have been a hairy stick painter for many years, but through the great generosity of a fellow Britmodeller I have come by an Iwata Revolution CR.  I want to give it a go and see if I can dip my toe in the world of airbrushing, but it doesn't have a wooden handle at one end and some bristles at the other, like the tools I have been using for two decades, so I am frankly clueless. Some advice is needed!

Realising the need for some kind of air pushy thing, I have purchased what is hopefully a decent compressor (Iwata Smart Jet).

Now, I build pretty much exclusively British military aircraft and paint them with acrylics. Both of those things will be continuing - I had enough of enamel fumes as a teenager. I am completely kitted out with paints that brush well and can be easily thinned with plain old water - mostly Humbrol and Revell Aqua, with a few Xtracrylix and Vallejo  thrown in here and there. I have recently become fed up with the increasingly lousy quality of Humbrol acrylics so I am receptive to gradually changing brand. I appreciate that what brushes easily doesn't necessarily airbrush easily and that water ain't gonna cut it for airbrush paint thinning.

So, my main questions are:

1. what brands would people recommend which are a) acrylic, b.) spray well enough that as a complete newbie I might be able to make them work, e.g they don't clog the nozzle at the drop of a hat and crucially c) have a good range of British standard colours? Is my stockpile of usable Humbrol likely to be completely useless?
  2. What products should I be purchasing to thin said paint and clean the airbrush effectively? I understand it is generally necessary to spray through a cleaner after use to avoid clogging.
  3.  Is there anything else I have forgot to buy that I will regret not having?

Thanks in advance!

• Like 1