1:48 Spitfire TR9 - ICM conversion

Olly_5

Starting a new project today - converting the ICM 1:48 Spitfire IX kit into a Grace-canopy TR9. The scheme I am doing is G-CTIX, i.e PT462. 

First up - Planning.

Here is the 'base plan' of a Mk IX Spitfire

spacer.png

... and the plan converted to TR9 spec

spacer.png

The red lines indicate what I'll be cutting/adding etc. . The red section will be moved forwards 6.3mm, plus with a 6.3mm piece of plastic added on the back of this section to fill the gap left. 

I'm completely new to any kind of scratch building so any tips/help will be muchly appreciated! 

Thanks, and hopefully this project wont end up in the bin!

• Like 9

spacer.png

Here's the first thing I'm doing to the kit - marking out the cut position. The shaded in box will be removed from the aircraft and the cockpit section brought forwards.

• Like 7

While I wait for filler to be delivered, I started work on the engine.

Only done the two cylinder stacks, rocker covers and exhausts for the time being. 

spacer.png

spacer.pngspacer.png

In the kit, they only had fishtail exhausts. However, Indy has rounded ends. I found an old Eduard kit which had these, so had to cut off each exhaust and stick them on individually. All is ok so far! 

Going to build up the engine today and then move onto the fuselage when the filler arrives. 

• Like 4

Here is yesterday's progress - added the supports and fitted it to the bulkhead. Also scratch built some more parts for the engine; pipes, the starter etc. 

spacer.png

spacer.png

• Like 4

16 minutes ago, Olly_5 said:

Thanks Dean! That looks excellent. I imagine the problems will crop up when I'm trying to make the 2nd cockpit haha