1:32 Spitfire Vc Trop, 81 Sqn North Africa 1942-43, conversion from Revell Spitfire IXc

Kallisti

Waaaaaaaay back in 2013, I started an attempt to build a 1:32 Spitfire Vc using the Hobbyboss Vb Trop as the doner kit. 

It failed. The original build thread is here 

However, nothing got wasted and it all got put into storage. Then last year for the BoB GB I started a thread to convert the 1:32 Revell Spitfire Mk II into a Mk 1 and sadly this too failed. Build thread for that is here 

However what that made me think of was the Revell Mk IX kit that was released a few years back and that made me think that maybe a better route to getting a 1:32 Spitfire Vc would be to convert a IXc back into a VC since a lot of the early IXC were actually re-engined Vc in the first place. Bingo! Brilliant idea!!!

So the reason for wanting a 1:32 Sptifire Vc Trop is to complete the series of models I've been building for several years releated to my Father's service in the RAF during WWII. This was started back in 2012 with this thread

Finally I believe I've collected enough material to begin this project and hopefully do it justice. The various kits and accessories have accumulated over the years so I think its time to get on with it! First off a summary of the kits that will donate to this project, first off the Revell Mk IXc, a brand new kit which is pretty good value for money

DSC_4950.JPG

Next is the HobbyBoss VbTrop that kick started this whole thing 7 years ago

DSC_4955.JPG

and finally the HobbyBoss Spitfire Vb kit that was planned to donate its engine and various pieces to the Spitfire Mk 1 build last year

DSC_4952.JPG

Here is the sprue shot of the contents of the Revell kit - its not overly complicated which is a bonus for what I'm aiming to do

DSC_4951.JPG

and here is a represeantative sample of some of the aftermarket parts, spares and other bits that will also be used. This is not exhaustive, I'm sure there will be other additions as this develops.

DSC_4956.JPG