2020: Not always the easy way...

Bjorn

This is my first yearbook on Britmodeller. In some ways representative for what I normally build, but in other ways a year when I had plans to build easy kits, but often chose another direction with old kits that demanded both blood, sweat, putty, sanding sticks and sometimes words not suitable for printing. But above all - it has been lots of fun! So here we go:

1. Heller Douglas DC-6B (1/72)
With Stoppel Hobby decals and lots of minor modifications. Old, rather crude kit that demanded a lot, but resulted in a huge model of an airliner classic - the first airliner to fly over the North Pole.

50827352211_24e6099348_c.jpg

2. Hobbyboss Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-17F (1/48)
With Aires cockpit and a blend of aftermarket decals. A relaxing OOB build that started in 2019 but was finished in 2020.

50826602963_935423313c_c.jpg

3. Eduard Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-21MF (1/48)
With Eduard photoetch. Another build started in 2019. Another East German bird, and one of the best kits I have ever built. 

50827434132_79a2be159e_b.jpg

4. Eduard Supermarine Spitfire Mk. XVI (1/48)
With Xtradecals decals. Another Eduard jewel, and a relaxing, almost therapeuthic build after a month when I struggled with Airfix 1/72 Concorde AND Heller 1/72 Boeing 707 at the same time. I hope I can finish them both in 2021.

50822317776_1c161f714b_c.jpg

5. Airfix Supermarine Spitfire Mk. 22 (1/48)
With a blend of decals, some from the box, others from my spares box. Although it is one of Airfix's best kits of the 90s, it was quite obvious that it is about 25 years old. But absolutely buildable although aftermarket decals was necessary.

50827355476_6478f51758_c.jpg

6. OEZ Sukhoi Su-7BKL (1/48)
With lots of patience, some scratch-building and decals from my spares box. 80s kit with crude details (which on the other hand reflects the real thing fairly good). Although it was demanding, it was fun and I am proud that I didn't give up.
50827301561_60fd15e28f_c.jpg