Shapeways Alfa 158 engine & grill upgrade

Aster Builder

As folks may have seen elsewhere I've just obtained a Merit Alfa 158 kit and am delighted with it. I think it will make the basis of a nice model.

As I prepare to start the build one of our members introduced me to the Shapeways upgrade for the engine and grill. Having studied this I read that there is an added note about the product being brittle. As I'm new to 3D printed products I wonder if anyone is able to comment on this note and in particular how suitable it will be on a display model.

Interesting to see as I've built the kit OOB. I have recently bought other 1/24 pieces from Shapeways and been impressed with the quality.

I use Shapeways products printed in their Smoothest Detail Resin. It perhaps isn't as forgiving as styrene just be careful and if needed use a fine saw to cut parts rather than trying to press with a knife blade and don't try to bend or force it into place. It sands ok too but wear a mask and prime with an automotive plastic primer.

On 11/01/2021 at 14:02, Aster Builder said:

Need to look for the Fernando Pinto wheel set next for the Alfa. Any experience of these folks?

I really like Fernando Pinto's work, and not least his wire wheels. I haven't handled the specific wheels for your Alfa, but here are two of my build threads where you can see more of his wire wheels:

• Like 1

On 11/01/2021 at 13:02, Aster Builder said:

Glad to hear positive response about Shapeways products. If its as good as the illustration on the website I will be well pleased. 

Need to look for the Fernando Pinto wheel set next for the Alfa. Any experience of these folks?

I have a FPM kit in the stash, it's the 1:24 Ferrari 250GT SWB Bertone and the wire wheels are exquisite, I thought I had a better photo but here's the one picture I've taken.

y4m4ku3nAKKPdSoRRi2xHtVNYvDgXg7heanc3AC8

• Like 1