Revell F 89 Scorpion in 1/48th Scale.Finished.

Alex Gordon

G'day Chums,it's not as if I haven't anything else to do but I just fancied building something straightforward.After the chopping and hammering fest that was my Spitfire build I felt the need for a more relaxing caper.It's a while since I built a jet and being as I've been tripping over this one for several years I thought this was as good a time as any to give it a go.  

pyjqIeD.jpg

Here's what's in the box.There's not a lot of bits,it's just the size of them.

t4E5xHp.jpg

The decal sheet has a bit of yellowing but nothing that a couple of weeks of concerted daylight exposure won't cure.

uxeZ8Eq.jpg

Wings and fuselage.The map invites the joining of the fuselage halves first followed by the shoehorning in of the innards once that has set through a big hole underneath.A dry fit confirmed that this will work.The wings have to go together at some point,might as well be early on.

UegPpyi.jpg

This thing is bally huge.Where on earth I'm going to put this once done is,currently,a mystery.

5XgcUZb.jpg

Underwing and wingtip tankage.Like I said,straightforward.

xNFTrJA.jpg

Anyway,this is where we are tonight.The fit so far has been excellent,a little bit of gentle encouragement after glueing was all that was needed to set the joints just so,I'm looking forward to a distinct lack of sanding and levelling.

kfl4Rv5.jpg

I've just remembered,I forgot to put the holes in the wing for the drop tank pylons.Oh well,that's what happens when the bench isn't big enough for the map and the kit all at the same time.

More soon Chums,thanks for looking in.

Edited by Alex Gordon
  • Like 12

Now is indeed a good time to get this one done :) 

There's something of the Monogram style to this one that makes me wonder if it was originally one of their tooling :hmmm:

• Like 1

Hello again Chums,a bit of progress to report.