Panavia Tornado F.3 - Matchbox 1/72

Hi everyone, 

This is my effort to improve the Matchbox kit of the Tornado F.3 in 1/72nd scale. It was painted with Humbrol enamels.

To make a very long story short, the following works were done:

-The cockpit, the front and rear LG bays, the seamless intakes (can't really see them any more) and the airbrakes were scratch built. 

-The exhausts and the wheels were copied from the Revell kit in resin. 

-The seats were taken from the Hasegawa kit with a couple more additions.

-The landing gear struts were aftermarket additions (white metal I think by SAC) as was the main canopy (vac by Airwaves).

-The decals were from XtraDecals.

The kit's wide and deep panel lines were filled and they got rescribed. There are quite a few mistakes and omissions but this kit was a test platform for things I have never done before, such as silicon moulds, resin copies, fitting scratch built parts to the main body of the kit, etc. Unfortunately the XtraDecals sheet did not have complete stencils (as a matter of fact had a very few) so I had to find replacements that were not totally correct (e.g wrong colour and size), and on top of that I lost the pilot/copilot names that go to the canopy!

Anyway, here is the final result:

17-2-2017-1res.jpg

100-4455.jpg

100-4489.jpg

100-4493.jpg

100-4452.jpg

100-4454.jpg

100-4461.jpg

100-4465.jpg

100-4462.jpg

100-4496.jpg

100-4457.jpg

100-4485.jpg

100_4523.jpg

100_4478.jpg

100-4468.jpg

100_4487.jpg

100_4500.jpg

100-4470.jpg

100_4472.jpg

100_4474.jpg

100_4483.jpg

100_4503.jpg

100_4508.jpg

100_4515.jpg

100_4524.jpg

100_4525.jpg

100_4526.jpg

Thank you all!!! Stay safe and keep modelling!:bye: 

Edited by Kentavros76
  • Like 39
  • Thanks 2

4 minutes ago, Hook said:

Excellent - that doesn't even look like the Matchbox kit anymore, and that 's a big compliment. ;)

Cheers,

Andre

Thank you Andre! I really appreciate your comment!:rolleyes: