Recommended SatNav

Chaps.

I've been driving about 33k/yr for many years now (now leaped to 1200/week...) and have managed with Google maps quite happily.

But, unfortunately, due to too many Android updates It's no longer fit for use. IE, you have to touch the screen when driving to maximise the screen if a call comes in.

So, I bit the bullet and bought a TomTom Go Essential.

It arrived today and is going back tomorrow!

Failed during update, TomTom locking me out of my account and bluetooth tethering doesn't work as intended, etc, etc...

I've had a Garmin for years and that was pretty good back then, but some of the other drivers don't rate them anymore.

So...

What to go for?

It must have live traffic, but no sim (hence tethering must work).

£150-200 budget.

Suggestions?

Rick.

I've had Garmins (two) over about 15 years, and have always been happy with them. The newest can be updated via your home computer (basically plug in and the machines do everything else), so it's not a problem to keep it up to the mark.

Thanks chaps.

Unfortunately I do need to take an odd. Call, hands free, so can't do the don't disturb bit.

The updates I need are live traffic, so it'll need a permanent connection to a phone.

Rick.

You could try Waze, a popular free app, works on android. I had a garmin sat nav years back and although it was good I tried Waze on my android phone, it worked a treat and live updates from other road users advising road works, crashes, speed cameras and a host of other things, also answers your phone via bluetooth. Its faster than gmaps.

Worth a try before you go spending £150+ .

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I'm a big fan of Waze - though I thought it required a Spotify subscription. The info it provides is current and detailed (e.g. hidden police car, pothole in road).