Panther Ausf D Befehlspanzer.

Stef N.

Here is the project I will be attempting for this group build. I was looking for something a little bit different and I saw this version in Trojca's Im Detail. It is a command tank seen in Italy in early 44 and the good people at Meng provide the extra bits to do this. Also as it looks like a complicated kit I wanted a simpler paint job and this comes in either plain DG or DG with a few green stripes.

p?i=5fb208f5ae76eef97cecfce83b5b2a4e

Some nice photo etch and plenty of sprues including two turrets and two sets of wheels.

p?i=4447c5825bfb965aa79632e403ed023dp?i=c59347aec4532a6a3f9f0a64a5ffa816

What fresh hell is this??😀

p?i=31caf2b99b33848b938025d4e36dc59f

Got these extras on the way. The one I will be doing is the I02. (E).

spacer.pngspacer.png

This is the best photo I have found so far. Got a book on the way so hopefully a bit more clarity.

spacer.png

I am still a novice when it comes to Panthers so any advice and tips are greatly appreciated. Good luck to you all and will enjoy looking in on your builds.👍

• Like 8

8 hours ago, Retired Bob said:

Nice looking model but those tracks look like hard work. :unsure:

Yeah, they look a bit of a headache. I'm reasonably competent at individual links but whoever thought individual guide horns was a good idea? The sideguards are looking more useful by the minute.😀

• Like 2

Yeah, Meng Panther tracks.... I opted for Fruils on the Jagdpanther, lifes to short for the multipart indi links, imo!

Really beware of the poly caps to swinging arms....very very tight fit and once on they don't come off without risking breaking an arm!

Great project and good luck.

Darryl 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

After a bit of research there is a case of good news, bad news. The good news is that I don't need to use those tracks. The bad news is that I will have to spend some more money on a later set. Fruils are tempting, if expensive.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, Stef N. said: