Modelling consumables

Whilst reading the Should model kits be banned thread, and the discussion regarding the disposal of plastic waste, I have begun wondering how we dispose of the other materials used in the construction of plastic kits

Particularly items such as paint thinners and the like

I work in the motor industry and after painting my models with enamel paints  have disposed of the waste paint laden thinners into the used engine oil containers at work

I have now started using  acrylic paint and an airbrush, this has quickly left me with a large amount of waste airbrush cleaning fluid contaminated with paint particles

Where should i dispose of this ?, down the sink cant be right can it ?

Where do you guys dispose of your waste consumables ?

I have a Gatorade sports drink bottle 32oz and i have cat litter and kitchen towels in it. When i dump paints or thinners into it they get absorbed into the materials. Here in the U.S. you can throw out paints in the regular waste if they're dried using cat litter. 

Edited by Corsairfoxfouruncle
  • Like 5

That, Dennis, sounds like a great idea. If I can get hold of some kitty litter, I will give it  go. I will save me having to decant a used jar of dirty thinners into a clean one, but still getting a load of crud in it. I daren't put anything like that down the sink, as we're on a septic tank, and it would kill the bugs.

John.

• Like 1
10 hours ago, Truro Model Builder said:

Good point. I imagine that for most of us, down the sink is the only option.

Not a good option.

At the very least, down the toilet would be better, since there is the ability to separate out chemicals onece at the treatment plant.

If you have a bucket of water and bleach for cleaning house floors with, down the loo is the best option.

13 minutes ago, spaddad said:

Sink and toilet use the same drains.

You just beat me to that. Is there a different system in NZ?