A riveting question...

Which do you reckon was the most heavily riveted Airfix kit? 

The one that sticks in my mind is the P40 Kittyhawk. Even as a kid I knew there was something wrong there...

Airfix used to get a lot of grief for its Phantom Rivetter but actually, they were a good representation of raised, dome headed rivets which feature on many aircraft even today.

These raised rivets were a far more accurate representation than the holes a lot of modellers have been lured into thinking are rivets, they're not, they're holes or at best the holes that will be subsequently filled by rivets.  These holes if scaled up would be deeper than the skin thickness in real life.  As an aircraft engineer I don't like them (frankly, they offend me), if a real aircraft turned up with that holes that deep we'd be reskinning it at the very least, chances are we'd be scrapping it as being overstressed.  Most riggers of my acqauintance would shoot a countersunk rivet to be less than 5 thousandths of an inch flush of the surface in 1:1 scale (as a matter of professional pride)!

The Airfix Puma is a rivetfest but at least they're of the raised variety just as they are on the real thing!

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

Yes, but raised rivets tended to be about the scale of the bolts in Frankenstein's neck.  Not "far more accurate" than golf-ball pocks, in my opinion.

Most ,but not all raised rivets on a Puma are what's called mushroom headed rivets. These are domed rivets that are little squashed down compared to normal domed/ raised rivets. 

Sammy da Fish

• Like 1
2 hours ago, Vicarage Vee said:

The original Lancaster was very.... tactile.

So was Revell's 1970s Lanc. :hmmm:
Is that a pattern?