Cessna float planes

23 minutes ago, Andrew D Jolly Rogers guy said:

Planning ahead for a diorama with a Cessna floatplane, probably something similar to a Cessna 172.

I've found options in 1/48, but are there any bigger ones, say 1/32 or similar?

https://www.wonderlandmodels.com/products/roden-132-l-19o-1-bird-dog-floatplane-kit/

There's a Bird Dog, not sure to what extent these were used by civvies.

Hi Andrew

I'm far from an expert I only know of the Revell/Monogram Cessna 180, approximately 1:41 scale, most come on wheels but, some kits were released with amphibious floats. A Revell Germany 1/32 Piper Super Cub (came with floats in one version wheels in another)...Although again no tandem seating. There is also (or was at one time) a fellow adding home made floats on "Large Scale Planes" to a very rare Nichimo kit Cessna 172 in 1/20 scale....tough to find kit and big job to fit floats to but might be an option??

I believe all these kits are currently oop at the current time but the Cessna 180's are more common than the others...Possibly Ebay or other on line model supply store. Be advised though the 180 is mostly a toy kit, it can however be a respectable model but takes work (I've built 4 of them)

In a smaller scale (1/48) you may be able to find a DHC-2 Beaver, DHC-3 Otter and Cessna 172 on floats.

I bet there's more, these are only the ones I'm aware of.

Chris

Edited by chrispisme
typo

Much appreciated Chris!

The hope is to create a diorama scene from one of my favorite TV shows, which featured a Cessna floatplane of some kind (not sure the exact subtype), so if I do this I can't go other plane routes.  Normally I'm a 1/72 jet guy, but in this case I know even a 1/48 job would be slightly small for the extreme detailing/scratchbuilding I'm hoping to do.

Ok, here's what I'm considering doing a diorama of, Buzz Sherwood's second plane from the Red Green Show.  I used to fly 172's, and judging by the cabin rear, it doesn't seem to be a 172.