Help

Ottopv

I have a cheap generic airbrush dual action  which I’m struggling with I know I should probably bite the bullet and buy a decent one but I’m new to the hobby and not sure I want to splash the cash yet

anyway the problem is lack of paint flow  if I put my thumb over the cup and seal it  it works a treat even just getting water through is a problem any ideas been cleaned numerous times makes no difference 

thanks paul

@bmwh548Thanks for reply but no if. Put my thumb over the paint cup the airbrush works great take thumb away virtually no paint  if I just rest on top same issue but push thumb and seal off it works great, probably just a piece of junk I have noticed today that the nozzle is no way central to the air cap  and the needle certainly doesn’t look like a precision piece 

I'm not saying I don't believe you...it's just that it contradicts physics. If you look at an airbrush that has a lid for the paint cup you'll notice a small hole in that lid. That hole is there precisely to let in air that replaces the paint being "pulled out" of the airbrush by the airflow going on at the front of the airbrush. If that hole is covered (or if you seal the paint cup for some reason) air can't go inside the paint cup so paint can't exit the airbrush.

Do you have bubbles in the paint cup? Is it behaving like this with paint or is it doing the same thing with water? Is it one of those with multiple set of nozzles and nozzle covers? Is the needle actually moving when you pull on the trigger?

Sorry for late response  there wasnt bubbles in paint cup but there is now been stripped down so many times now   I think it probably isn’t worth persevering with 

it is a cheap generic brush and not worth the hassle it has made me realise I want to be able to airbrush so I think I’ll bet the bullet and buy a proper one question now is which one certainly don’t want to break the bank but I want something to work and last any suggestions 1/24 cars and 1/12 bikes